Daily Archives: June 28, 2010

The power to shut off my laptop

Right now, in my household there’s a subtle feeling of doom. I’m in the process of finding a new job so my contribution to the household income is in flux. We had a plan to pay off all our debts (aside from the mortgage) in the next 6 months but it seems like as soon as we think we are getting ahead, something comes along and throws a wrench in the works.

But we are no different than anyone else and in fact, we are better off than many. We could be living on the gulf coast right now and depending on the fruits of the gulf that are dying before our eyes or tourism dollars that aren’t materializing, to feed our family.

Things could be so much worse. And they very well might get worse.

I keep reading that next year we will be paying more taxes. I already need to save several hundred dollars a month to pay my taxes and they will be higher next year? You’ve got to be kidding me, right? More in taxes for what? For less liberty.

I read this story tonight via Drudge Report and it makes me sink further into this morass of gloom. Obama can shut down the internet for up to 4 months if this bill passes.  No one will ever convince me that this is related to national security concerns. This is all about shutting down speech that has become inconvenient for the left. They don’t want any more James O’Keefe or Hannah Giles exposing scams like ACORN. No more Matt Drudge or Andrew Breitbart. No more YouTube videos that catches a politician man-handling a college student on the street for asking a simple question.

Is this what it will take to wake up our fellow citizens? When they lose the internet will they finally realize that tObama is not what he was billed? I’m hoping that any legislator who votes for this bill will be defeated in November (or whenever he/she is up for re-election.)

Shut down the internet? This is incredible to me. It follows that he could turn off our television, too. He could leave us totally in the dark with no voice and nothing to hear or read. The implications of this has got to scare anyone with a functioning brain. There is already technology out there that can control our thermostats from some remote bureaucrats desk somewhere. The government could control how cold or warm our homes are or how many times a week we run our washing machines.

And now they want to control what we KNOW and LEARN? What we say, read and write? We have got to stop this. This has been a dramatic take-over of America. It has happened so fast that most of us have no idea what new laws and regulations have been imposed on us. You have to spend 10 hours a day reading the news and the bills to even have a clue what they are doing to us.

They are counting on fatigue and surrender from the citizens to get all this stuff past us. It’s what I’ve been feeling for the past week. I’ve not been able to post anything to my blog because of this overwhelming feeling of doom. They want us to get tired and give up.

We simply can’t give up and surrender our rights and our nation to these marxists. This has to be stopped.