Daily Archives: May 28, 2012

Chris Hayes defines Heroism

Much has been written in the last couple days about Chris Hayes and his, for lack of a better word – stupid comments on MSNBC. According to Hayes heroism is about taking a bullet for or falling on a grenade to save fellow soldiers.

I don’t want to obviously desecrate or disrespect memory of anyone that’s fallen, and obviously there are individual circumstances in which there is genuine, tremendous heroism: hail of gunfire, rescuing fellow soldiers and things like that.

Yes, AND THINGS LIKE THAT.

No question that is a definition of heroism. But to all those soldiers who have volunteered – let me impress on the reader the word VOLUNTEERED – to serve our nation, regardless of the station they are serving, heroism is just that – VOLUNTEERING.

They joined of their own free will to put service to this nation above everything else. Those soldiers volunteered to protect our Constitution and our nation. Whether they are serving as a tuba player in a USMC Band or on the front lines in Afghanistan, those people are all heros to me.  They have volunteered to do a job that I am not brave enough to do. Hell, boot camp alone is a task I was and am too cowardly to do.

They have chosen to do a job that Chris Hayes is too cowardly to do.

Those soldiers are doing the job so that insipient, Ivy League ingrates like Chris Hayes can expound on television about what a hero is or is not… AND THINGS LIKE THAT.

Shame on Chris Hayes and MSNBC.

And thank you to my HEROS – my husband, my father, my brother and my brother-in-law for serving and VOLUNTEERING to defend me, this nation and our Constitution.