Daily Archives: December 28, 2010

Death Panels Part II – a personal story

This is personal because this is my blog and because I can speak on this topic based on my own experience.

In October, my elderly mother was admitted to the hospital from her assisted living facility. I had been up to see her a couple days in a row and noted that she was not herself – mentally or physically. On the second day, she was most definitely  “out of it.”  My mom’s arms and abdomen were really edematous (swollen) and she was mentally out to lunch. So I called an ambulance.

After 2 days with no improvement, in fact she was worse, they did a CT scan and determined she had a small bowel obstruction. I am her medical POA (power of attorney) and she was, I thought, lucid enough to know and make the decisions regarding her care. At one point she said to me “I think I’m strong enough for this surgery, don’t you?”

I agreed.

They did surgery and she spent a couple days in ICU. By the time she was released to a med-surg floor, she was awake and alert.

She could not remember anything that had occurred or that we had spoken about since the night before her admission from assisted living. She did not know why she even had an 6 inch abdominal incision. She did not remember our discussions about the surgery or her surgeon’s visits to her room before and after the operation.

Are you following where I’m going with this in regard to death panels and end of life discussions with physicians and patients?

Now, where are the liberals who are so quick to defend Obama and defame my critical thinking skills in my previous posts?

Where are they defending him and his medical czars?

They can’t argue death panels and non-elected, appointed positions in the White House. They can only come here and accuse me of “drinking the Fox News Channel Kool-aid.”

Did the democrats really believe that they could slip this by over Christmas and no one would be the wiser? None of us would be aware of what they were doing? Their arrogance is mind-numbing.

What fools! They have to know that the clock is running and we have just about had enough of them. These corrupt politicians will be rooted out with every single election cycle if it takes us a generation to do so.


The return of Death Panels

“Life as a whole has no meaning. Life began, as the best available theories tell us, in a chance combination of gasses; it then evolved through random mutation and natural selection. All this just happened; it did not happen to any overall purpose.” Dr. Peter Singer

As the grandmother of a new baby, this kind of statement makes me physically ill.

If you do nothing else today, please, please, please read this article at the American Spectator.

None of this is news to us, who read and keep up on current events. We are all aware of the regulation that was put forth over Christmas and reported in the NYT on Christmas day.  It’s disgusting how the Obama regime is trying to make an end run around not only Congress but the American people.

Jeffery Lord at the American Spectator puts it all in order for the reader to understand, and adds some interesting twists and comments along the way.