So here I am – back

Two Wednesdays ago I was transported to the hospital via ambulance, not once but twice. After the 2nd trip, I was just sent on to Las Vegas to University Medical Center. Dr.Ward, the ER doc, told my husband that this situation was “above his pay grade” and he was right. I really like him for that and his wife is running for state senate here in my county (Dr. Kelli Ward) and already has our vote. I admire someone who knows the limits of his department and knows when it’s best to move a patient on and out to higher level care.

Much of what happened that week is really foggy and I’ve had to ask my family, over and over what happened to me. I have been seizure free for 6 years, until this episode of back to back grand mal seizures in one afternoon. I thank God for that and I thank God for not being alone or driving a car when any of these have happened. Thankfully, my grandson was not alone, either. There really is an angel looking over me and him and no one will ever convince me otherwise. Needless to say, I won’t be driving again for some time.

I’m sure there are people out there who couldn’t care less about my medical condition (a benign left frontal brain tumor) and many who actually believe I deserve it. I can assure you that I’d never wish this on anyone or anyone’s family. You always feel as though there’s a time bomb ticking in your head. But my doctor has given me excellent news – he believes that I’m “cured” and that if I have other seizures, they are due to scar tissue and not the tumor itself. They have also impressed on me how important it is to remain vigilant with my medications.

I’ve been scared of ObamaCare and what it will do to my private pay insurance (it’s already risen) and my health care, period. One of the drugs that I needed in the ER, was not available (another reason that Dr. Ward had to send me on to Las Vegas.) Another drug that I need to prevent seizures, was only partially available on Friday here in town and hopefully, the remainder of the prescription will be available soon. I was only able to get 10 days of that drug from a 30 day prescription. I will be able to speak first hand on what ObamaCare will do to those of us with chronic conditions, if this act remains intact.

So this is where I’ve been for the last 2 weeks and why I’ve not posted anything. I’ve missed reading all my friend’s blogs and missed them reading mine. I know that many of you have your own medical issues or your family members do, and know that my thoughts and prayers are with you, as well.

God bless you all, my dear friends.

 

5 responses to “So here I am – back

Leave a Reply

