2012 from me

After health, happiness and some prosperity for my kids, I want to see Obama on his way out of office in November. I want to see a wave of conservatives take over the Senate.  And if, God forbid, Obama is re-elected, I hope that a new Congress can and will over ride his vetos and keep him under some kind of control.

I want to see less tension throughout the world and especially the Middle East. I’m not hopeful on that wish, however.  14 centuries of hatred and barbarism can’t be cured in a generation or 2, let alone a year.

ObamaCare has to be found unConstitutional this year or we are doomed.

I want my old lightbulbs back. I want Congress to make that happen this year.

I plan to lose the weight that I need to lose. (And no, I’m not going to tell how much but it’s less than 50 lbs and more than 10. Figure it out for yourself if it really matters to you. Ha!)

This year, I’m going to quit smoking… I hope and pray.

I’m planning to devote all the time I can to playing with and teaching Alex because I’m afraid he’ll be moving out (and his mama, too) in 6 months. Those will be difficult days for us – we will miss them both so much.

Every day will be a full day for me, I plan to waste as little time as possible. I want a full and bigger garden and I want to do more cooking at home than I’ve done in the last year. I’m going to get more organized and keep a cleaner house. I want to draw more and sew more.

I probably won’t accomplish half of this but it’s good to take stock of what needs to be changed and improved. And if only part of these things come to pass for me and for us, I think it will be a successful year.

Happy New Year to all of you. I pray it’s full of all good things for you and those you love.

12 responses to “2012 from me

  • nooneofanyimport

    Aw, your 2012 assessment is wonderful, and inspiring to me. Perhaps I should do the same. Best of wishes on your quest to stop smoking, and lose weight. I’ve never smoked, but I’m terribly cheap, so I’d think the “money I’ve saved” mentality would be a great incentive. Maybe save it up, buy yourself a reward? Oh, a friend of mine swears by those water vapor fake cigarettes. My dad in law used the patch, and toothpicks (for the oral habit), and a boat load of Little Debbie snackcakes.

    Maybe quit smoking first, and lose weight later, LOL.

    My best
    Linda

    • roxannadanna

      I have some of those cigarettes (the electronic ones with the water vapor) but you know every time I inhale on them, I start coughing like a first time smoker! Drives me nuts!

      I also have lots of the gum and the patches too. LOL Do I sound fortified or what?

  • Freedom, by the way

    I hope all of your personal goals are met…and I pray your goals for our nation and world are met, as well. (just don’t try to quit smoking AND lose weight at the same time, unless you’ve got nerves of steel and a VERY understanding family–LOL)
    Happy New Year, Roxi.

    • roxannadanna

      I know what you mean about trying to stop smoking AND lose weight at the same time. It IS a recipe for disaster but I’ve been thinking that every time I want to smoke, I should exercise instead — do you think that’s a plan? I can hop on my exercise bike or do a bunch of situps or something like that.

      And when it gets warm enough out again, I plan to walk Alex to the park ( he loves the swings.) The park is only about a quarter mile from our house and we could walk it easily.

  • roxannadanna

    Thanks to you all and God bless you all too. I’m so lucky to have you all as my friends.
    Too many people (not us but so many others like the OWS squatters) aren’t humble enough to count our blessings and be thankful for what we have. I have so much to be thankful for and know how blessed I am.

    What better day than New Year’s day to say this is the first day of the rest of my life? And to thank God for this day and all the ones to come.

  • loopyloo305

    Happy New Year Roxy, God bless you my friend!

  • bydesign001

    HAPPY NEW YEAR to you, dear Roxie. May the new year be peaceful, blessed, happy and prosperous and may you accomplish a part of the list, especially the part with young Alexander.

    God bless you.

    D.

  • AFVET

    Good luck this year Roxy !
    2012 will be our year, I can feel it.
    Young Alexander is in good hands, what a lucky young man !
    What a lucky Grandma. 🙂

  • samiam60

    Good Morning and Happy New Year my friend

Leave a Reply

