The Susan G. Komen/PP connection

Dena mentioned something to me in email several days ago that came as a surprise to both of us. It might be a  surprise to you too.

The Susan G. Komen Foundation has been financially supporting Planned Parenthood for the last decade. And in fact, Planned Parenthood of the Greater Northwest is a co-owner, with Komen’s nephew (Eric Brinker), of a mall in Peoria, Ill.  Brinker sits on the board of the SGK Foundation.

From 2004-09, SGK gave over $3M to PP.

At least one Catholic Bishop (of Toledo, OH) is urging his parishioners to donate their dollars to other breast cancer research and support organizations.

Something to think about this October during breast cancer awareness month. Where are your donated dollars going?

3 responses to “The Susan G. Komen/PP connection

  • roxannadanna

    Yep ladies, it came as a surprise to me when Dena mentioned that she read something in the newspaper connecting them. That prompted me to do a search and was easy to find the connections.

    I don’t donate to SGK either, except when I check out of the grocery store and they ask me if I want to add a dollar to some cause or another. This October when they ask me to donate to SGK, I’ll be saying NO.

  • Righthook

    I didn’t know that, but sadly, it doesn’t surprise me. I don’t think I’ve ever donated to them anyway, but I definitely won’t be in the future.

    Not surprising that they mislead people about the money. I’m sure they would lose a lot of support if they were up front about it. Good for you for getting the word out. It’s the same thing PP does…they divert attention from the abortions they perform, by stressing how much people need them for cancer screenings and breast exams, which they do little of either. It’s only a fraction of where their revenues are generated.

  • loopyloo305

    No it is not news to me. I read about it last year on one of the Christian web sites in their pro-life news. It seems they advertise the money as going to breast exams and such, but in reality it goes directly into PP’s coffers to be spent on abortions, etc. The really sad thing is that the Susan Komen foundations leader are perfectly aware of it and mislead the people who donate to them.

Leave a Reply

